Our Curriculum

National Curriculum and Assessment

At Ravensmead we continue to offer a broad curriculum, based upon real experiences. The curriculum will promote spiritual, moral and cultural development. We also teach Religious Education (to a locally agreed policy). Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education is taught and this includes Sex and Relationships Education.

We believe that this curriculum provision will continue to prepare our pupils for opportunities, responsibilities and experiences for later life.

In common with all schools, our provision will be within a framework supported by Fundamental British Values.

Reception are assessed against Early Learning Goals (National)

Year 2 & 6 were assessed against new ‘interim teacher assessment framework’ which incorporated SATs assessments. (See additional information sheet for Year 2 and 6 parents.)

Year 1 – have Phonics Screening (National)

Year 2 – have Phonics Screening for some pupils (National)

Years 1, 3, 4, 5 are longer be assessed against National Curriculum levels. All schools in the country were encouraged to develop their own Assessment Procedures. Our system must establish new “baselines” so that Expected Progress can be measured. As a school we sought all available advice and devised a set of statements that outline new, challenging expected attainment standards for reading, writing and mathematics each year of school that would not take SATs tests, or be subject to the ‘interim teacher assessments’ in years 2 and 6.

When a child has satisfied almost all of these standards the teacher will judge this child to be ‘expected’ in that area. A child who is still working to achieve many of these standards will be judged ‘emerging’ and those that have achieved all the statements and working at greater depth are judged as ‘exceeding’.

These statements reflect the new national curriculum end of phase assessments and have raised the challenge in each year group as a result.

Key Stages explained

The National Curriculum states which subjects children must study at school. It also divides them into age groups called Key Stages. At each Key Stage, all children in state schools will study certain subjects, following the requirements of the National Curriculum.

The Key Stages are as follows:

Foundation Stage
Preschool – end of Reception Year
Age 3-5

Key Stage 1
Years 1-2
Ages 5-7

Key Stage 2
Ages 7-11

Intent, Implementation and Impact Statement

Intent Statement Final.docx